Why Do I Do It?

18 Jul

Just a little bit ago I was walking into the kitchen to refill my tea glass when a snippet from a Tim McGraw song popped into my head:

“Please remember me”

Suddenly, it dawned on me why I continue to try my hand at things like art and writing.  I want to be remembered.

My life is nothing special.  I don’t have many friends, I don’t have a job, I don’t have children.  I have a fiancee and a cat.  The thought that if I died tomorrow there would be nothing left behind of ME on this Earth makes me immensely sad.  I want there to be something to show that I was here.

I’m not going to cure cancer, I’m not going to become a famous actress or singer, and it’s not looking like I’m going to become a famous artist, either, so what else is left to me to be remembered by other than my writing?  And if I’m going to be remembered by my writing, shouldn’t I actually WRITE something?

I just recently turned 34, and while I’m certainly not in my dotage, I’m no longer a spring chicken, either.  If I’m going to leave something behind, I’d best get started on it, eh?

I don’t want to be forgotten.

I assume this desire is a little stronger in me since I don’t have (and don’t plan on having) children.  Children are an easy ticket to immortality.  Not that raising and caring for them is easy, but it’s kind of a given that you will be remembered, by them, by their children, and in the family trees for generations to come; but those of us who don’t perpetuate the family line, we end up as the appendix of the family tree- you know it mattered at some point in time, but now it’s nothing more than a curiosity taking up space.

No, those of us without issue must devise a different way to be remembered.  If I were rich, I could throw a lot of money at some hospital and have them name a wing after me, or maybe some swanky university- but I’m not rich, and don’t see myself becoming so anytime in the near (or far) future.

But I can write.

Anyone can write.

The trick is writing well; writing well enough that your words will be remembered by someone, somewhere, long after your soul has left this earthly plane.  Even if all one manages to do is leave their words in the dusty bowels of the back issue section of some defunct literary magazine, one can still go to their grave with the illusion of immortality.

One day I will die, and when that day comes, I want there to be more than an obituary to remember me by.

4 Responses to “Why Do I Do It?”

  1. spiritchild1972 July 18, 2014 at 10:22 am #

    Whether you know it or not, your more than just words on a screen. I’ve never met you yet you were the first person I told I didn’t have Cancer. When I need a reality check or a strong guide or voice of reason I turn to you. You are real to me. You will leave a legacy for starters just being you. There are many who would mourn you, remember and celebrate you most of whom you’ve never met. A legacy isn’t about what you are but who you are. There are millions of painters, artists and writers who achieved success that no one remembers. I for one while I hope you would come to me first if you died would be devastated. And I would make sure people knew how special you were to not just me but J and Smoosh and everyone else. Don’t sell yourself short Mrs. I don’t have just anyone in as my Wifey lol

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos July 18, 2014 at 6:51 pm #

      Well pooh. You weren’t supposed to make me get all teary-eyed… I guess it’s payback for all the mooshy stuff I say that makes you cry, lol!

      I love you dearly, my friend (Wifey!) and if it’s possible for me to do so after I cross over, I’ll find you for sure, here or there 🙂

      Like

      • spiritchild1972 July 19, 2014 at 5:25 pm #

        I love you too Wifey. Who said a Stalker can’t live happily ever after with their victim?’ Lol and yes it was TOTAL pay back lol

        Like

Share your thoughts!

