Starting From Scratch

17 Jul

I’ve been derelict in my duties as a blogger.  I’ve abandoned my post and as a result, my readers have scattered in the wind, back to all corners of the globe from whence they came.

But maybe that’s not a bad thing.

Not that there was anything wrong with my readers, but maybe starting from scratch is what I need, to get me back to where I should have been all along.

I have this problem where, if I spend too much time in front of the computer, I tend to get lost in it, and by the time I manage to claw my way out from the bowels of the interwebz, eight hours have passed, and I’ve got nothing to show for it.  On the other hand, if I’m not on the computer, my blog tends to get lost in the everyday mundane things I manage to find to occupy my time.  It’s a tightrope I walk, and all the times I’ve fallen from it are evidenced by the several-month gaps between closely grouped posts.

Add to that my complete and utter lack of discipline and you’ve got yourself a recipe for a frequently AWOL blogger… which I sincerely apologize for, to those lovely few who have stayed loyal and actually come back and read my posts, even after I’ve been gone for extended periods of time.

I actually really like blogging, but when you don’t really have much of a skill in anything, nothing much actually happens in your life, and you suffer from what I call CADD (Creative Attention Deficit Disorder)… there are just times that even when you want to write, there’s honestly nothing of value that you can offer for the time of the readers who visit your blog.

That being said, I think it’s time that I start from scratch in attempting to get a regular readership, and actually post things on a regular basis.

It’s also time for a revamp of my site.  I still think my current layout is cute, I think I’d like something a little less cartoony, and what better time to revamp the site than when I’m starting over, looking to attract new readers?

I’ve also decided that I need to do some daily creative writing, so I’m considering starting a second blog that only contains my daily writing.  We shall see.

Here’s to starting over, forming habits, attracting new readers and calling back old friends.

Let’s try this again, shall we?

4 Responses to “Starting From Scratch”

  1. astraltravler July 17, 2014 at 12:04 pm #

    Darlin,
    I will always be here…
    Have A 🍑 (peachy) Day
    ~A 😊

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos July 17, 2014 at 7:25 pm #

      I appreciate that more than you know, friend!

      All the best,

      A.

      Like

  2. PonderTheIrrelevant July 18, 2014 at 1:34 pm #

    Welcome back!! I’m happy to see you back on my feed 🙂 I also really like the new look. I’ve been trying to get up the courage/time/whatever to change my layout, but it’s a tough step to take!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos July 18, 2014 at 6:56 pm #

      I literally did it in 10 minutes! The most time consuming part is finding a layout you like.

      Unless you’re doing it all from scratch. But if you use the Theme templates available from WP, it’s so easy…. a caveman could do it 😉

      Like

Share your thoughts!

