As Promised…

6 Apr
Burger & salad.  662 cal.

Burger & salad. 662 cal.

Here’s the pictures of our respective dinners last night.  First, mine.  I had a salad and a burger that was so good I moaned the whole time I was eating it!

What You’re Seeing:

Salad: Green Leaf Lettuce, Iceberg Lettuce, Red Onion, Cucumber, Tomato, Scallions, Feta Cheese & 3 tbsp Lite Zesty Italian dressing.

Burger: 4 oz. 80/20 ground chuck (270 cal.) filled with 25g. Feta cheese (66 cal.) topped with Sargento’s Ultra Thin Provolone (40 cal./slice), Tomato, Lettuce, 2 tbsp. Lite Mayo (50 cal.) on Arnold’s 100% Whole Wheat Flax & Fiber Sandwich Thins (only 100 cal., but with 5 g. each of fiber & protien!).

When I tell you this burger was delicious, I ain’t kiddin’!  I don’t know if it was because for the two previous days, I’d had omelets for breakfast, salads for lunch and stir fry for dinner, or if it was Just. That. Good.

Tonight, I’ll be eating another burger, but this time, I won’t be filling it with Feta, I’ll be topping it with sauteed onions & mushrooms and a slice of Ultra Thin Provolone… and only 1 tbsp of mayo this time, lol.  And a big side of broccoli.  Yum!

His dinner:

Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry w/ 1 c. White Rice - 659 cal.

Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry w/ 1 c. White Rice – 659 cal.

Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry with 1c. white rice, the whole plate of which ran about 659 cal.  He ended up only able to eat about half of it, and took the other half for lunch today.

I’m still terrible about spreading the calories out through the day, unless I plan our meals the night before, as evidenced by our calorie-heavy dinners, but I’m trying.  Hopefully, once I’ve retrained my brain and eyes as to what proper portions are, I will be able to do this by sight, not having to weigh out every single little thing, but until then, this is such a pain, lol.

As a side note, I used to drink about 540 calories A DAY in sweet tea alone, so cutting out the extra sugar/calories and only consuming water (plain water!  No artificial sweeteners in my drinks, thank you.  Blech!  They taste disgusting.) instantly had me drastically reducing my calorie intake.

According to my scale, I’ve lost 9 lbs since Thursday.  I presume most of that is water weight, and my 1-week weigh-in will show a more realistic number.  I can’t find my fabric tape to measure my waist/hips/arms/etc, so I haven’t a clue as to whether I’ve shown any improvement in those areas that aren’t reliant on the scale to show progress.

Share your thoughts!

