Calling All Travelers/Vacationistas!

17 Mar

I’m writing this blog post, because I am hoping that the blogging world (and beyond) can help my Love and I decide where to go on vacation this year.  I’m asking for two different categories, the first is where we should go this year, 2014.  This vacation spot needs to be in the United States.

The second category is more versatile.  I’d like suggestions from everyone on the best places to go, and the most awesome things to see, in the entire world.  Mind you, we’re not world travelers, so safety should be a concern, but if you’ve been somewhere and seen something amazing, I want to know about it.

In short, I’m looking for places that are both exciting (stuff to do) as well as beautiful and/or historic.

Please help, and share, and comment with your experiences.  And don’t assume that because it’s world-renown, that I’ve already thought of it!  Short of Vegas, NYC, and London, I have no clue where might be great places to visit.

Current US destinations under consideration are:

Vegas

New York City

San Diego OR San Francisco (or both?)

Current International Destinations are:

?

15 Responses to “Calling All Travelers/Vacationistas!”

  1. Jenni March 17, 2014 at 10:46 pm #

    Couldn’t help you in the States but I would recommend one of the islands in the Whitsundays and Barrier reef that don’t allow children (not the party ones) are will cater to whatever you need as well as running trips to the reef and butterfly bay as well as Whitehaven – which is the most spectacular beach in the world (not exaggerating at all). One mile of pure white sand untouched – no development on the island at all and even 1/2 click out to sea the water is so clear you can see the bottom when you look over the side of the boat. Then of course there is the rain forest and Port Douglas just past Cairns which is pretty darn fine.

    Like

  2. Lydia Devadason March 18, 2014 at 3:06 am #

    I’m not deliberately trying to be controversial but my favourite holiday destinations of all time in terms of loads to do and see are Vietnam and Cuba 😉 Though for either you’d need to do a fair bit of research to make sure it fitted your bill. We essentially travelled around both with no planning (ah, the memories of holidaying before children) 😉

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos March 18, 2014 at 5:56 am #

      No controversy here! I’m open to all suggestions. I plan on doing a lot of traveling, so there’s no ONE right destination 🙂 I’m just looking for ideas, because I’m fairly ignorant of the world at large.

      Are Cuba & Vietnam safe places to visit? I always imagined that the Vietnamese would kind of dislike Americans, you know, considering the war and all, and I always thought Cuba was the sort of place one didn’t necessarily go… wandering.

      I’ve only traveled in the US, so I really don’t have much of a clue as to how to go about it, honestly.

      Like

      • Lydia Devadason March 18, 2014 at 6:16 am #

        I went to Cuba many, many years ago (2001). Lots of my friends have been there since and loved it. There is plenty of scope for travelling around and it seemed pretty safe at the time. There are a lot of more touristy areas and nice beaches etc or you could check out Havana (the cigar factories, the city generally, people salsa dancing outside bars while you sip mojitos (if that’s your kind of thing)). We travelled by coach and stayed in people’s houses (people rent out their rooms) but unless you’re on a tight budget you may prefer the more traditional option of hotels.

        As for Vietnam, we again travelled – from South to North – but in answer to your question, it’s a fair point and I’m not sure. We did come across some other Americans travelling but I’m not sure about how they found the experience. Perhaps for your first travels outside of US play it safer.

        I’ve heard though that lots of the other countries around Vietnam are also beautiful and have loads to offer (Cambodia, Laos, Thailand) though I’ve never been. 🙂

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos March 18, 2014 at 6:52 am #

          Thanks so much for taking the time to write an in-depth review of your travels to Cuba and Vietnam! This was precisely the thing I was looking for; real opinions and experiences.

          I would love to try the ‘backpack’ type traveling, where you sort of pick a beginning and an end, and let the rest come as it may, but I’m afraid that my travel (and life) partner wouldn’t like that much. Who knows, if we tried it, I might hate it and he might love it, but I don’t think he’d even try… unless we started small, like a weekend trip with no destination or something, lol… just an agenda or something, like crossing two states outside of our own, etc. I might be able to convince him of trying that, but out of country?

          Heck, he’s already trying to nix San Diego because ‘I don’t know anything about it’… I replied, ‘Isn’t that kind of the point? LOL’

          Like

          • Lydia Devadason March 18, 2014 at 6:55 am #

            No worries at all, hope you have a great time wherever you decide to go. Will look forward to hearing about it 🙂

            Like

  3. Holistic Wayfarer March 28, 2014 at 12:52 pm #

    Can’t beat exciting with NYC on your itinerary. =) I grew up there. The water is the best in the country. Ironic. You’ll notice the difference even after the first or second shower. The water is what makes the food taste good, too.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos March 28, 2014 at 6:29 pm #

      NYC is definitely on my short-list. I actually have a very inexpensive list of things I *MUST* see/do… but I’m concerned that it doesn’t really encompass the NYC ‘experience’.

      So far, my list is:
      -SEE the statue of liberty (I don’t want to go to Ellis Island or take a ferry or anything… I’m perfectly content with seeing it from the city side of the shore, I just want to SEE it with my own two eyes).

      -Eat a slice (or three) of REAL NY Pizza

      -Eat a hot dog from a street vendor

      -Attend a taping of the David Letterman Show (if he’s still on air by the time I go there, lol).

      -Ride the subway (I’ve never ridden a subway, or a taxi, or a train

      and newly added to the list

      -Visit Chinatown

      -Go to that giant toy store there… I can’t remember the name, something Schwartz, I think?

      Any other suggestions? I’m a fairly unsophisticated person, so Broadway shows or Operas or whatnot aren’t really my cuppa tea, if you know what I mean, lol.

      Like

      • Holistic Wayfarer March 28, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

        Central Park. Was my husband – then fiance -‘s dream to ride his unicycle in Central. Heads turned domino style as they watched him go. LOL.

        You WILL ride the subway! Dunno how you’d get around economically w/o.

        FAO Schwtz.

        Chk out the Village and/or Soho.
        Just realized you’ll prolly take to this:

        http://holisticwayfarer.com/2013/06/21/east-meets-west-a-literal-translation/

        LOL!

        And thanks for having visited already.

        Like

      • Holistic Wayfarer March 28, 2014 at 6:51 pm #

        How’d ya know about the hot dogs? I almost mentioned earlier that you need to try one…except I no longer eat unconsciously ha ha ha and cannot in good conscientious advise such a thing. But yeah, since you said it, they at least tAsTe good LOL.

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos March 28, 2014 at 7:11 pm #

          LOL… honestly? TV. You can’t watch a crime drama or movie based in NYC where they’re not stopping at a street vendor and getting a hot dog on the fly! So it most definitely had to be part of my NYC experience 🙂

          Like

          • Holistic Wayfarer March 28, 2014 at 8:25 pm #

            LOL LOL THat is the BEST bit of honesty I’ve heard in a while. You know, that’s funny you say that bc it’s the culture you want to experience, and food is so much a part of culture, right? When I started the RACE, a reader admitted this of a certain group near Nigeria: “had thought I used to think they all have bad teeth (and sadly, this i gleaned from the limited number of English movies i have watched ). LOL

            Those hot dogs looked good, huh? Yeah, again I admit they are. Grew up on them. *scary*

            Like

            • KraftedKhaos April 1, 2014 at 8:05 am #

              This is one of the main reasons WHY I want to travel so dearly… I want to see/learn things for MYSELF, not just assume and accept the generalization or stereotype of other places is truth. I want to form my own opinion. TV, movies, etc. exist to provoke response, even the news, so one can only take them with a grain of salt. The only way to find out truth from fiction is to go see for yourself.

              The hot dogs look okay… I get a craving for a hot dog on occasion, otherwise, I actually don’t care for them, but I figure if they’re on EVERY television show involving NY, there must be something to them, lol. Either that, or it’s a great Hot Dog Conspiracy, manufactured by the manufacturers of said dogs, to entice wayward travelers into believing this is something every ‘real’ NY experience includes, lol. If so, well played, hot dog manufacturers, well played!

              🙂

              Like

              • Holistic Wayfarer April 1, 2014 at 8:14 am #

                “but I figure if they’re on EVERY television show involving NY, there must be something to them, lol.” LOL

                Like

Share your thoughts!

