I’m Still Alive… and Hopefully for Longer!

16 Jan

Wow.  I guess I should say a big ‘I’m sorry’ to anyone who followed my blog on a regular basis.  I took what I had intended to be a short break, and it turned into a three month hiatus.  My sincerest apologies, because that was not at all intentional.

There have been a few changes in my life since I was last posting, the biggest of which is that I have quit smoking.  My last cigarette was on November 22, 2013 at twelve o’clock, noon.  Since then, I haven’t lit up once.

I will admit, I had a little bit (a lot) of help with this… and if you’ll indulge me, I’ll tell you about it.

About a year ago, my Love and I bought e-cigs together.  Things were going pretty well, I’d cut down from a pack and a half a day to less than a half a pack a day.  Then, two weeks into it, we both got sick.  Our lungs hadn’t adjusted to the difference of water vapor versus smoke, so we were having a very hard time using the e-cigs, so we smoked regular cigarettes instead, just to be able to breathe with the intention of using the e-cig again once we were well.  That didn’t happen.  Neither of us were able to pick it back up again after we got better, so they sat on the table collecting dust for about a year.  Fast forward to mid-November, and I decided I’d give it another try, Christmas was coming up, and money was a little tight so I figured Hey, why not give it another shot?

Much to my relief and surprise, I was able to pick it up again just as easily as I had the first time, and literally overnight went from smoking two packs a day (yes, the habit had gotten worse) to less than a half a pack a day.  Overnight.  Then the miracle happened.  I found flavored e-juice.  We had started with the tobacco flavor, because we figured that would be easiest, make it seem more like smoking.  Maybe it was, but it didn’t seem to help me kick the smoking habit for good, though.  Enter Butter Pecan flavored e-juice, and the catalyst that allowed me to put down the cigarettes once and for all.

Once I started puffing on that lovely tasting juice, every cigarette I smoked tasted worse than the last one.  Within two days, I was down to three cigarettes, and on the fourth day, I lit one up, and it tasted so bad, compared to that Butter Pecan flavored vapor I’d been vaping, I just put it out, and said ‘No more.’

I’m not going to lie, it was rough going at the beginning on occasion.  Although my juice had nicotine in it, it didn’t contain all of the other addictive things that are in cigarettes, so I was going through withdrawal for those for about two weeks.  My Love will say I was an utter grouch, but I disagree.  Now, if I hadn’t had the nicotine in my vapor, THEN I would have been a grouch!

So, long story longer, four days after getting my flavored e-juice, I put down the smokes for good, and have been cigarette free for 55 days, 6 hours and 19 minutes as of this moment… and I couldn’t be prouder of myself.

To make things even better, my Love finally found a set up and flavor he likes, so two days ago, he started using the e-cig again, and hasn’t smoked more than 5 cigarettes a day since.  I’m extremely proud of him.  He’s been a smoker for about 25 years, and I smoked for about 16.

I’m not going to go into a big lecture about how bad smoking is or anything (nothing’s worse than a former smoker, am I right?) but what I will say is, if you smoke and would LIKE to quit but think you can’t, or even if you tell yourself it would be a good idea to either quit or cut back, but don’t seem to be able to, please, please please seriously consider getting an e-cig.  Check out e-cigaretteforum.com.  They really helped me in the beginning, and really helped me figure out what I needed in order to get a good vape.

A few words of warning, though.  Firstly, very few people like the ones that look like cigarettes (they’re often called ‘cigalikes’, and they’re brands like Blu and others that are sold mostly in convenience stores and whatnot), if you’re dying of curiosity, then by all means, pick one up and try it, but don’t think that they represent the entire experience of vaping because they’re not even close.  Find a vape shop near you.  Go in, try the flavors, ask questions.  If they don’t seem to know what they’re talking about, go to another one.  People are starting to realize that this is big business, so shops are popping up all over by people trying to ride the wave of the popularity of vaping, and they have no idea what they’re actually talking about.  Find a good, reputable shop, and if you can’t find one, spend lots of time on the forum I linked to in the previous paragraph, they’ll tell you the best online shops to order from, and there is someone there who can answer any question you can come up with about the subject.

So, if I managed to hold anyone’s attention this far, I guess I should also say that another new thing in my life is my new kitten.  I named him Lucky, and I’ll write another post next week about how I obtained him, and our adventures since then… and I’ll have pictures.

I’ll probably also make another post about my Love and my e-cig set-ups and flavors, in case anyone is curious.

Wow.  It’s sure been a while.

But I’m glad to be back!

~A

9 Responses to “I’m Still Alive… and Hopefully for Longer!”

  1. phoenixasubbie January 16, 2014 at 8:45 pm #

    Congratulations and welcome back 🙂 Yay. Was happy to see you post

    Like

  2. znjavid January 17, 2014 at 4:09 am #

    Congratulations and all the best for sticking to your guns.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos February 24, 2014 at 5:37 am #

      Thank you so much! Sorry I took so long to respond, I’ve just been slacking like that lately, but I haven’t picked up a cigarette!!! 🙂

      Like

  3. PinotNinja January 17, 2014 at 5:46 pm #

    Congrats! I can’t wait to read about how much better you and the dude feel as your freedom from the cigarette shackles continue. Money and health! A total win!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos February 24, 2014 at 5:37 am #

      Thank you so much! I know I haven’t been around here much lately, but I can at least say I’m still smoke free!

      Like

  4. Photo Girl February 5, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

    Glad to see you back! Sounds like you’ve really made some progress in your life!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos February 24, 2014 at 5:39 am #

      Thanks! Things are moving along nicely, which I WILL post about in an entry TONIGHT!

      Like

  5. Shalena February 21, 2014 at 4:48 pm #

    This is very good for you! I quit drinking on the 24th of December of last year so I guess that was just a year to “Quit.” — Congrats on the new kitten as well! I’m jealous.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos February 24, 2014 at 5:41 am #

      Shalena,

      If drinking was impacting your health or your safety, or you just felt like it was something you needed to do for yourself, then let me say that I am so proud of you for making the choice! I sure hope you have as much success with your ‘quit’ as I’m having with mine!!!

      A.

      Like

Share your thoughts!

