Halloween Is Approaching…

6 Oct

… and this is my first year of decorating for it, so I’m pretty excited.  I didn’t want to go out and spend a whole lot of money I don’t have on Halloween decorations, so I turned to Google (and a few friends!) for ideas on what I could make myself.    Tons of great ideas later, I’ve gotten a little bit done.  Nowhere near as much as I’d like to do, but I’m so excited about what I’ve done so far that I just can’t wait until it’s finished to share, so here are my Halloween decorations so far:

Welcome to my Haunted House! :)

Welcome to my Haunted House! 🙂

So, this is my front door… I bought the things that stick on the window at Wal-Mart because I just couldn’t resist them.  You can’t see them very well, but I had a string of purple LED lights already in my possession, and I hung them around the outside of the window, to light up the creepy cheesecloth curtain at night.  You can’t see him because he’s hidden by the ‘curtain’, but that’s a scarecrow hanging on the door, one of my Dollar Tree finds from about 10 years ago, and one of the few Halloween/Fall decorations I owned.

Incomplete Fireplace Halloween Display

Incomplete Fireplace Halloween Display

Okay, this is my fireplace display.  It’s not complete because it’s way too naked.  It needs lots more stuff, but I just don’t have anything to put there at the moment.  I wanted a big cauldron to go in the center, underneath the ‘witch’s herbs’ I hung there, but I don’t have one, so for now I settled for a sword with a handle made of skulls that a friend brought over for me to try and sell… anyone want to buy it? lol

The things on top of the mantle are actually on display in our living room all year long (oh, the things we do for love, right?), but just not in that manner.  Mostly I try to hide them back in corners and stuff, lol.

Mantle Close-Up

Mantle Close-Up

This is a closer view of my mantle display.  Here you can see the spiderwebs I hand-spun from cotton-balls (can we say ‘tedious’?)  This is actually the first time I’ve ever been happy that My Love has that creepy horned skull.  I need some more good stuff to put up here!

And now for my favorite decoration so far!

My Favorite Decoration So Far!

My Favorite Decoration So Far!

So, this is my favorite one that I’ve done.  I’ve got two more windows that face the street, so I have to come up with things for those windows, too.  I think I’m going to try a ghost in the upstairs window, with a strobe light behind it (which we also already have here.  Don’t ask).  On the other full-size window I’m going to try to put a witch stirring a cauldron with her broom leaning up against the ‘wall’.  I am SO excited about how this turned out!

That was totally NOT my own idea.  I got it off of Pinterest.  All you have to do is go on there and search for ‘Halloween Window Silhouettes’ and you should find plenty, and if you run across the right blog (it was ‘Craft’-something) you’ll find the guy who originally came up with this window idea (his name was ‘Jeff’-something).

Even though I totally stole the idea, I did manage to draw everything except the pig’s head (enlarged a photo I found on-line and traced the outline.  Interesting images when you Google ‘hanging pig’s head’, by the way) and the cat silhouette (found one I liked, then enlarged it and made my own cutout).

I am SO excited.

We’re also supposed to do Trick-or-Treaters this year, too, which I’ve never done before, either.  This is the first time I will A)be home and B)have lived somewhere where trick-or-treaters might come.

Super exciting stuff!

If we’re still living here next year, I want to make a mini-haunted forest, by making a path that goes in a loop around the house and putting ghosty things on it.  We will see.  That’s a lot of work, lol.

If I manage to get more decorations up, I’ll make an ‘Update’ post to share them with you all.

If you decorate for Halloween and make a post with pictures on your blog, please leave me a link to the post in the comments section so I can go check them out!

Happy (upcoming) Halloween, everyone!

May Blessings be upon you all!

A.

 

4 Responses to “Halloween Is Approaching…”

  1. Gardner's World October 6, 2013 at 3:46 am #

    Looks like Halloween is going to be bags of fun in your house!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos October 6, 2013 at 4:03 am #

      Well, Fall is my favorite time of the year, and I *LOVE* to dress up –

      EEK! Dress up! I don’t have a costume!!!!

      — as I was saying, I love to dress up, and I absolutely love Fall, so Halloween is one of my favorites!

      If I had unlimited funds, my entire house would become a haunted house, inside and out, for the month of October!

      Like

  2. PonderTheIrrelevant October 14, 2013 at 12:19 am #

    These look great! I love that you conveniently have a horned skull at home 🙂 I love Halloween but don’t usually get to decorate for various reasons, so I enjoy living vicariously. Sounds like the trick-or-treaters are in for fun!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos October 14, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      Hopefully! But they’ll be upset if I don’t get out soon and get some candy, LOL!

      Like

Share your thoughts!

