8 Hours for 10 Minutes… I’m Almost Ashamed

21 Sep

I’d love to explain why I just spent the last EIGHT hours on a 10 minute YouTube video, but I can’t.

Perhaps it’s the fact that I’m stubborn, and refuse to let much of anything get the better of me.

Perhaps it’s just because I’ve never made a YouTube video before, and I just didn’t know what I was doing.

Perhaps it’s because I was bored.

In reality, it’s a little bit of all three, plus a few more for good measure, but, I honestly did just waste the last eight hours on a video that consisted of two slides, a title and credits, and a dual layer soundtrack, and most likely will be full of negative comments within 24 hours (YouTube-ers are notoriously mean in the comments, I’ve noticed!).

BUT, that still does not stop me from feeling a sense of pride, as well as accomplishment, for doing something I’ve never done before, and doing it passably well… at least, in my own opinion.

It’s me explaining a relaxation technique I use to get to sleep sometimes when my mind just won’t shut off… sometimes it works immediately, sometimes it takes a while, but I promise, if you attempt this technique long enough, you WILL fall asleep… eventually πŸ˜‰

If anyone was interested in checking it out, it can be found here.Β  It features my artwork, and the music from the singing plants CD I bought the other week.

6 Responses to “8 Hours for 10 Minutes… I’m Almost Ashamed”

  1. bobh47955 September 21, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    No negative comments on it as of now. 6:15 AM EST

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos September 21, 2013 at 7:13 am #

      lol, well, that’s something!

      Like

      • bobh47955 September 21, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

        That’s cool isn’t it? lol

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos September 21, 2013 at 7:15 pm #

          lol, it’s a relief, actually… some of those comments on videos can get quite harsh!

          Like

  2. mypersonalchef September 21, 2013 at 8:29 am #

    I’m feeling sleepy already πŸ˜‰ You have a calming voice.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos September 21, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

      Why thank you! πŸ™‚ There’s a definite difference in my voice between me explaining the process and when I’m ‘guiding’ it.

      I wonder if the lesson in making that video was actually meant for ME, to learn the difference of how something as simple as my intent can completely change not only the tone of my voice, but how it is heard and how what I am saying is received by the listener.

      I mean, we all know intellectually that the tone of our voices matter, but to HEAR the difference, well, it’s a little startling. To me, at least, as someone who KNOWS that my voice can sometimes make even heavy-grit sandpaper feel smooth as silk in comparison, lol.

      Thank you for checking it out πŸ™‚ I actually got the idea to make it because I was considering making one for my mother… she’s under extreme stress lately, and as a Christian, many of the ‘new age’ meditations would make her extremely uncomfortable, so I was considering making one for her that she wouldn’t feel uncomfortable listening to.

      Like

Share your thoughts!

