Art & Life Updates, A Fire In My Kitchen

18 Sep

I know I’ve been all over the map lately, and I apologize for that, however, my life has been all over the map, so of course my blog will reflect that. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m excited to get my hands on the 4×5 set of my artwork that I ordered the other day (it should be in either today or tomorrow).ย  I’m excited to see how it looks, and to get it in an album to show off to people, and to show potential buyers what I’ve got.

I managed to get a few more photos that have potential to be turned into artwork, but as of yet, I haven’t had a chance to upload them to my computer, much less work with them.

My Love officially starts his new job on Friday, and we couldn’t be more excited.ย  It’s a tremendous opportunity, and we are both so grateful that it has come our way.ย  It’s still shiftwork, it’s still 12 hour days, but the potential is phenomenal.

I baked some more bread last night, an managed to set one of my loaves on FIRE.

Did you hear that? ON FIRE!

I know, I know.ย  Poor little guy slid right off the pan and landed on the heating element in the oven and as soon as it touched it, it burst into flame, thanks to the olive oil coating the bottom of the bun from the pan! In hindsight it is funny, but at the time, I was horrified!ย  Thank goodness as soon as I slid it away from the element the flames went out, but my heart was broken for my little bun.ย  Poor little guy.

Needless to say, I just sliced off the burnt part, and we’ll be eating the rest! ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  I also tried my hand at making onion rolls.ย  I haven’t actually tried one yet, because I wasn’t hungry when they came out of the oven, so I will be eating a sandwich on one today, and pass judgement then.ย  There’s no telling what it will taste like, because I followed no recipe for it, just followed the same recipe as I did for the Parmesan Oregano bread, but worked some reconstituted onions into the dough, and topped it with poppyseeds and some Mrs. Dash Onion and Herb seasoning.ย  Yay for experimental baking!

Homemade Onion Poppyseed Roll

Homemade Onion Poppyseed Roll

All I can say for it now is that it smells good ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  the rest is yet to come!

OH!ย  And I almost forgot… my Apple Cinnamon Macadamia Nut Bread, I ended up giving a loaf to a neighbor on either side of me, so I wouldn’t be tempted to eat it all myself!ย  One neighbor looked at me like I was crazy, but said thank you and took it, the other neighbor took it with a smile (the one who had recently received the belated ‘Welcome to the Neighborhood’ cake… I can only assume the cake was edible, or she would have looked a little less happy to get something else I’d baked, LOL!

4 Responses to “Art & Life Updates, A Fire In My Kitchen”

  1. spiritchild1972 September 18, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    That’s beautiful what you did for your neighbours. I can just see you pottering off to knock on the door. They might look at you like your nuts (and that isn’t a bad thing lol) but none can say you were a bad neighbour or person. It’s better to be known as the nut who bakes treats and goodies than the nut who cut up bodies and hid them in the basement lol I wish I was your neighbour though coz your bread looks yummy. I bake my own bread too but I would never have the guts to share. When I was a kid growing up we couldn’t afford bought biscuits (cookies) they were for guests or Xmas and we were so ashamed of having to eat home baked goods NOW!!! people come to my house BECAUSE I have home baked goods lol So well done you for embracing the kitchen. I find baking so cathartic and rewarding and I love to see people embrace their inner Deliah Smith/Barefoot Countessa/Alison Holst depending on what country your from lol

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos September 18, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

      LOL, the funny thing is, the neighbors who looked at me weird were the neighbors I’ve interacted with the most! But I guess nowadays, having friendly neighbors who bring you baked goods IS a little weird, because it has fallen out of practice… then again, maybe they looked at me strangely because they suddenly figured out who it was that left the anonymous kindness cupcakes on their doorstep a few weeks ago ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Hey! Maybe you could find someone who would be willing to trade a little downtime for YOU for some of your homemade bread! ๐Ÿ™‚

      You know me, I’m all about bartering, lol. I think that’s another practice that has fallen out of practice that shouldn’t have.

      Like

  2. mypersonalchef September 20, 2013 at 5:42 am #

    You should post a recipe ๐Ÿ˜‰ My favorite combo is three cheese or olive .
    The practice of baking bread is one of those mindful meditative acts that can be cathartic.
    Much Love

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos September 20, 2013 at 6:49 am #

      LOL, well, I made up the recipe for the onion roll… well, not the bread part of the recipe, but what went in and on it.

      I posted the link to the original recipe for the Parmesan Oregano, which I highly recommend (especially if anyone can tell me the proper temperature to cook it on, because it’s definitely not the temp on the recipe!)

      Like

Share your thoughts!

