10 Things I Do To Get (And Keep) Readers

21 Aug

The other day, I was answering a question posed in this post, over at SFoxWriting’s Blog and in replying, I came up with the idea for this post.  I hope you enjoy, or at the very least, find something helpful.

  1. I always use tags for every post, without them, my posts don’t show up when people search using keywords.
  2. I try to always link to related posts at the end of my own (using Zemanta), not only is it helping other bloggers to become exposed to new readers, I almost always get a view or two from people coming to check out who left them the pingback.
  3. I try to take a moment to acknowledge comments left on my page.  I truly appreciate it when people take the time to not only read my posts, but to make a comment, and the least I can do is say thanks.
  4. I visit, like and comment on other blogs, but I don’t leave comments just to get people to come back and visit me, I only comment when I have something valid to say or add.
  5. I follow the people who follow me, because if they like what I have to say enough to follow me, chances are, I’ll like what they have to say, as well.
  6. I try to post about things that people have shown they like to read.  If I notice a sharp increase in views with a certain subject, I try to incorporate that subject into my blog.
  7. I always try to be nice to everyone.  Like the old saying goes, “You catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.”
  8. Whenever I get an idea for a blog post, I always try to make a draft of at minimum, the title for the post, so that I have starting points when I’m low on ideas.
  9. I try to schedule posts ahead of time (like this one!) for days I know I might not be around the computer.
  10. Write!  The more you post, the more you’re out there for people to see.
  11. BONUS TIP:  Always try to give a little more than expected.  People appreciate it.

I’ve gotten a higher than usual influx of readers and followers lately because I’ve been writing about kindness the past week or so.  People want to read about kindness, acts of kindness, and more ways to be kind, so they come.  I also seem to have a lot to say on the subject, so I have made several posts a day, which also brings in more readers, naturally.

Posts about myself are always (usually) short, and posts about social issues are usually longer.  I also take the time to promote other bloggers, because some of my favorite blogs have been found through someone else mentioning them, so I try to offer the discovery of something new to my readers, as well.

Eventually, I would definitely like to monetize my blog.  I’m a homemaker, and I would like some pocket change to buy gifts for my fiancee for Christmas and his birthday, because I always feel guilty using money that he has worked for to pay for them, and I do promote my art on my blog on occasion, but for the most part, I try to write the sort of things I enjoy reading on other people’s blogs, so I know that in time, I will have plenty of readers just by doing what I’m doing.

I know a lot of people suggest following and commenting on other blogs to gain followers, and while this does work after a fashion, you really need to be careful with this, because if people feel like you’re doing this for the sole purpose of getting more readers/views/followers for yourself, you’ll get a not-so-stellar reputation.  I make sure that when I comment on a post on a blog that I’ve just run across, my comments are thoughtful, and add something to the blog.  Sure, ‘Great post’ is nice now and then, if you mean it, but if you want more meaningful follows and comments, you have to make sure you’re doing the same.

It might be a slower process, but in the end, if the people follow me because they like what I have to say, then they will be more loyal.  At least, that’s the plan 😉

How about you?  Any tips to add for getting and keeping readers?

7 Responses to “10 Things I Do To Get (And Keep) Readers”

  1. spiritchild1972 August 21, 2013 at 8:39 am #

    And I didn’t understand a word of what your talking about lol I on the other hand just throw stuff at the laptop and hope like hell it sticks lol I kind of cover my eyes and press keys in the hopes it gets out lol Honestly, I think I understood about 6 words you spoke lol words like post, tag, the, and, readers etc….I’m so crap and this new fangelled modern computee learnins, in my day you used smoke signals and that was enough. Now you have to Peep, Twit, Peeper, Instragran, blog, like, subscribe, them fancy words is hurting my thinker lol

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 21, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      LOL… you’ll get the hang of it sooner or later 😉 I have no doubts!!

      Like

  2. vozey August 21, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    I agree with pretty much everything you said. Except maybe the part about following other just because they followed me. I usually evaluate two things 1) do I like anything on their blog, 2) if I post a comment, do they ever respond? If either of those are true, I’ll usually follow.

    There are those ones that slip in though, the I-would-like-to-take-a-closer-look-but-I’m-busy-right-now blogs that I follow just to bookmark. Guess most of the time, due to all of the notifications, I should really refrain from such behavior.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 21, 2013 at 9:16 am #

      Well, I do have a broad spectrum of interests, so I usually find something I like in almost every blog that follows me, but if I follow someone and find them terribly offensive, or what have you, I would of course unfollow them, but that hasn’t happened so far.

      But I’m also one of those rare people who try to read all the posts by the people I follow, and to comment on a lot of them, as well. *shrugs* do unto others and all that 😉

      I’m sure this won’t be able to last forever, because eventually my feed will become too full to do so, and I’ll have to cull the list, but I sincerely wish I wouldn’t have to.

      Like

      • vozey August 21, 2013 at 9:23 am #

        There are others like me! I’m not alone! I also try to read all posts by at least a few of my favorite blogs. I also usually start with their first post and work towards the present.

        I’ve not unfollowed people, but I have decided against following blogs on poetry that I just didn’t care much of the style or approach. On the other hand, this guy:

        http://poemsandpeople.wordpress.com/

        I have to avoid is blog like the plague, because or else I’ll be on there ALL day! He writes some seriously beautiful poetry.

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos August 21, 2013 at 9:47 am #

          Thanks for sharing, I’ll have to check it out once I get time.

          Me, I write the type of poetry people don’t really care for anymore, lol. The rhyming kind, like the one I posted in the middle of the night last night…. and the one I’ll be posting tomorrow morning, lol. The one after that doesn’t rhyme, though. 😉

          Apparently rhyming is out of fashion with most poetry readers, so … but I really enjoy writing it, to find just the right words, arranged in just the right fashion to make the lines flow evenly (or as close to it as possible) while still telling your story in a coherent way… it’s a challenge, one which I greatly enjoy, but do so wish more people enjoyed reading.

          Then again, I might just suck at it, and people just claim not to like rhyming poetry to get out of telling me I suck, LOL!

          Like

Share your thoughts!

