Point Me In The Right Direction?

17 Aug

Hi, guys.  I’m sorry to put this out here on you, but I really don’t know where else to turn.

As you see, I just posted about my art and my decision to donate 25% of my proceeds to charity/acts of kindness.  What I need your help with (in the form of suggestions, tips, pointers, etc.) is how to get people interested enough in my artwork to want to purchase it?

I figured already that I would need to have matted (at the minimum) copies of several pieces to show prospective buyers, but what else can/should I be doing to help generate more sales?  My town doesn’t really have a lot of festivals and things where starving, unknown artists can set up a table and peddle their wares (or if they do, they’ve kept the secret really well!)  I already plan to create a website, also, as soon as I (again!) make enough sales to cover the cost of a domain name and the services of a website designer.

So how about it?  Anyone have any ideas on how to help me generate sales?

7 Responses to “Point Me In The Right Direction?”

  1. Ann "afriendforever54" Friend August 17, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

    I don’t know enough about Art to help. I can pray for your success 😉

    Like

  2. Joshua Bagby August 17, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

    With all the goodies available on wordpress.com, I would say scrap the idea of a web designer. Just put up another blog with a different theme more conducive to art. Make it more FOCUSED on what your intent is. Share stories about what you are doing and why. Network. You already seem to have skills in that area. Find out what other artists do. They are probably here on wordpress.com, too.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 17, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      Yes, Josh, I’ve got several artist acquaintances on here, and I’m hoping they’ll chime in, 😀

      I think a website is important, because people would feel less secure buying art from a blog, I think, than they would from a website, but I can always have a blog specific to my art ON the website 🙂 Good idea, thank you!

      Like

  3. Growth Hunter August 18, 2013 at 9:20 am #

    Hi,

    I agree with Joshua, if you only want to showcase you art, a blog or maybe a devian art account might be the free way to go.

    As how to market it, online is good but if you go up to local charity organizations and offer to donate the whole sales of certain pieces…they will most likely help you to publizice through their events and such.

    If you start getting the ball rolling with total donations for some art it will probably come back in people becoming interested in your art, you can link them to your blog/site and maybe can grow from there.

    Just thinking out loud 🙂

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 18, 2013 at 9:22 am #

      All thoughts are welcome, I appreciate you sharing with me 🙂 I will definitely consider your suggestion!

      Like

Share your thoughts!

