Art With A Heart – Giving Back

17 Aug

Art With A Heart

I’ve decided to donate 25% of the purchase price of my art to either charity or committing acts of kindness.

Everyone I’ve spoken to about how to price my art has told me to take my production cost and multiply it by three, and that should be my sale price.  While I obviously need the production cost to produce more artwork, the remaining 2/3 of the price is for my time, equipment upkeep, etc. so obviously, at least for the equipment part, I need to keep some money for myself, and I need to pay a few bills.  Outside of that, I don’t need the money, personally, and I think it would be a great idea to use that money for doing good.  (I should note here that the first few sales will need to all go back into production cost, because I can’t afford to professionally ‘produce’ more than one at a time at the moment, and having several on hand to show prospective local buyers is likely to garner more sales in the end than having just one- I figure the first four ought to cover it.)

I’ve decided to split that 25% into two parts, and donate the first half to charity and the second half to committing acts of kindness (or do you guys think I should just put all of it toward charity?  Please let me know your thoughts in the comments!)

One of my favorite charities of all time is St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.  If you can afford treatment or are insured, you of course are charged, but if a child is sick and their family doesn’t have the money to pay for treatment, they are not turned away, they are treated thanks to donations from people all over the country.  It is absolutely one of the most worthy causes I know of, and is the first charity to which I will donate through sales of my art.

Below are examples of my artwork.  All of my work comes from my own photographs, which I then digitally alter in a series of steps (sometimes more than 50 different processes) to arrive at the end result.

If you are interested in purchasing any of my art, please feel free to contact me at kraftedkhaos@gmail.com for pricing information or details.  All art will come matted and in a protective sleeve.  I have others, and there are more to come.  Please share this with anyone you know who may be interested in participating, or may simply be interested in my type of artwork.  I will have a website as soon as I have sold a few pieces and can afford to purchase a domain name and pay someone to create it for me.  At the moment, I can only accept Paypal (or cash if you’re local).

You can click (or right-click to open in a new tab or window) to see enlarged views (some of these definitely lose something in the translation, so I apologize).

The very last picture is the one I gave to my mom as a gift… don’t blame me for the frame, she picked it out, I just gave it to her matted… but it at least gives an idea of what they look like off screen. 🙂

Mystery of Life

Mystery of Life

Psychedelic Shroom

Psychedelic Shroom

Uplifting Outlook

Uplifting Outlook

Springtime

Springtime

Star Attraction

Star Attraction

Technical Tulip

Technical Tulip

Blossoms

Blossoms

My artwork, in a really bad frame!

My artwork, in a really bad frame!

6 Responses to “Art With A Heart – Giving Back”

  1. Artis August 17, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    Hey there! It’s been a while but now I’m back in business. I have also been thinking to give a certain % of my artsales to charity and I have few in mind. Maybe I should try to put that om my page as well. Thanks for the post and hope life is treating you well. All the best, Artis

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 17, 2013 at 8:41 am #

      Hey! I can’t claim anything terribly great, because 25% of nothing is still nothing, LOL… but I can hope, and have faith that eventually I’ll start selling my stuff, and be able to give a little something. I’m thinking of rotating between worthy charities, though, because there are so many… again, that depends on sales. When I was selling jewelry, I was so happy to be able to donate $100.00 USD to St. Judes (10% of my sales) before I stopped selling it. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to far outshine that number with my art.

      Like

      • Artis August 19, 2013 at 5:26 am #

        Hey there and a good morning to you my fellow artist 🙂

        Well then there are 2 of us that are hoping. I wish one could become rich on likes alone, but until that will be the reality, we just need to keep on working, showing the world that our work is worth seeing and buying. When it comes to charity I also think it´s wise to give to few and not only one. As you say, there are so many. I haven´t decided how much I will donate, but I will do my best. I am kinda starting to believe that this might not be the best platform to sell and show art, so I am working on finding a space irl for my art. Last year I had an exhibition for 2 days and it was great. Now I need to make another one, hoping it will be as successful as the first.

        Good luck with your blog and art! See you around 🙂

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos August 19, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

          Thank you! No, blogs aren’t really a great place to actually ‘sell’ anything, but they are good for getting supporters, ideas, stuff like that. Also a good place for networking, but I wouldn’t count on sales (and I don’t), but I do occasionally put the option out there for my readers, just in case 🙂

          You should definitely do another exhibition!

          Like

        • KraftedKhaos August 19, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

          Thank you! No, blogs aren’t really a great place to actually ‘sell’ anything, but they are good for getting supporters, ideas, stuff like that. Also a good place for networking, but I wouldn’t count on sales (and I don’t), but I do occasionally put the option out there for my readers, just in case 🙂

          You should definitely do another exhibition!

          Like

  2. Ann "afriendforever54" Friend August 17, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Nice! Thanks and God bless 😉

    Like

Share your thoughts!

