Kindness Cupcakes

16 Aug
All ready to go!

A Baker’s dozen, all ready to go!

Last night, while the rest of the world (or a good chunk of it, at least) was sleeping, I was planning my next act of kindness.

What I decided that I would do is bake cupcakes, and put little signs on them that said different things regarding kindness, with a plea at the bottom for the recipient to show kindness toward someone today.  On the back, I reminded them that the cupcakes contained eggs and flour, just in case anyone was allergic.

I set several aside because I planned to put one out for the mailman and since today is trash day, I figured I’d leave two for the trash guys, as well (sure hope there weren’t three guys!).  One was for my neighbor across the street, and as for the rest, I decided that I would walk around and give them away (I also ended up leaving 2 for my housemate and his girlfriend, and giving one to a friend who had stopped by earlier, left his phone, and had to return to pick it up).  As it turned out, the only person I actually saw was walking, trying to lose weight, so she didn’t want one.  I ended up leaving the rest on the hoods of cars in the neighborhood that I knew left early in the morning, and two outside the mini-mart in the neighborhood… I had no idea they weren’t open by six a.m., so I just left two on top of their morning papers.  Oh, well, it’s the thought that counts, I guess.

For the Garbage Collectors

For the Garbage Collectors

Thank you, Mr(s?). Postman

Thank you, Mr(s?). Postman

Kindness Is Contagious

Kindness Is Contagious

Kindness Is Never A Mistake

Kindness Is Never A Mistake

The Shortest Distance Between Two People Is A Smile

The Shortest Distance Between Two People Is A Smile

13 Responses to “Kindness Cupcakes”

  1. Ann "afriendforever54" Friend August 16, 2013 at 8:08 am #

    Thanks and God bless you for the mention 😄

    Like

  2. thekindnessblog August 16, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    Reblogged this on Kindness Blog and commented:
    Kindness in action! How sweet and inspiring 🙂

    Like

  3. vozey August 16, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    You’re crazily kind!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 16, 2013 at 9:04 am #

      😀 I’m trying to be. I also have plans to make tissue paper flowers and glue them to Popsicle sticks with a note glued to it that says “You are beautiful, You are smart, You are kind” and give them to kids I see. (The quote is from the movie ‘The Help’). 🙂 Just trying to figure out a faster way to do the flowers!

      Like

  4. Growth Hunter August 16, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    I’m always SO gratefully surprised how many random kindness initiatives are going around…

    You can count on another follower to your blog 🙂

    Have an AWESOME day!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 16, 2013 at 9:19 am #

      Aww! Thank you very much! I said before that I assume most people didn’t eat the cupcakes because, let’s face it, I’d be pretty leery about eating a cupcake from a random stranger… but hopefully they read the notes, and took them to heart, which is all I really wanted, anyway. 🙂

      Welcome, and please have an awesome day, yourself!

      Like

  5. Alex August 16, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Aw, thank you so much for the mention! You’re blog is beautiful. More people should be as kind as you!

    xx
    Alex
    youngmildandfree.wordpress.com

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 16, 2013 at 6:38 pm #

      Thank you very much. It is sometimes a struggle to fight against my natural selfishness in certain situations, or to overcome my shyness to interact with strangers, but it always feels good when I do.

      Like

  6. vozey August 16, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

    If one of the trash guys has a black eye, you’ll know the result of such kindness. And that your muffins are fightin’ good!

    Humor’s a kindness, right?

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 16, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

      LOL! I was actually peeking through the window when the trash collectors came, and he actually got out and took the box with the cupcakes, (I only saw one guy, so he got twice the kindness, LOL) and didn’t just toss them in the back of the truck, so even if he doesn’t eat them, I was pretty happy 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 4 of positivity: acorns, random convos, and a greek dance | One Blog, Two Writers... - August 22, 2013

    […] thought of another habit I want to keep. I was thinking about Krafted Khaos‘ nice gesture of giving cupcake-note gifts to the mailman and garbage collectors, and I thought about how with all our busy schedules and […]

    Like

Share your thoughts!

