Breaking Through Blogger’s Block

16 Aug
? Block

? Block (Photo credit: Cut To Pieces)

Every now and then, I find myself with Blogger’s Block, a.k.a. Writer’s Block In the Blogging World.  I’ll sit here staring at a blank screen, feeling frantic as I watch the minutes creep past, worried that an idea just won’t come.  I’ve sat for hours trying to think of a topic to post about sometimes (not literally, I get up to do other things, but that page is still there, accusingly naked, in my mind), and as the time ticks by, I get that sinking feeling that I may not be able to come up with anything to write about at all.

Recently, I’ve come up with a few tried and true ways to smash through Blogger’s Block, for me at least, and I thought that perhaps some of you might appreciate the suggestions, so here they are:

  1. Just write.  I know it sounds silly, and it can be irritating to be told this while in the midst of your dilemma, but truly, just write.  I’ve started (and discarded) almost 10 posts in a row, just to come up with one that I think is worthy of posting.  A lot of times it helps to just start the words.  It will feel stiff, unnatural, stilted and dry, but as you write, an amazing thing starts to happen.  Your brain seems to wake up and notice “Okay, so that’s what we’re doing!  Well, if we’re going to be writing, that garbage is simply unacceptable.  You need to change this and this, completely get rid of that… you know what, I’ve got a better idea, so let’s just toss this and start fresh.”  And suddenly, after a few tries, like magic, the post is there, pouring from your fingertips like water, like you’d never had any trouble to begin with.  So when all else fails, just write!
  2. Read and Comment on other blogs.  Reading other blogs is fine, but the key to this tip is the commenting.  I couldn’t begin to tell you how many of my blog posts have come into being from comments I’ve made on another blog.  I’m one of those prolific commenters, and sometimes my comments look like a rewrite of War & Peace, lol, but what I have found is that when my comments run to terrible lengths, I should really be making a blog post out of what I’m saying.  This post, in fact, is the direct result of a comment I started writing on another blog, and when I realized exactly how long it was, and how well it would incorporate into another draft I had that was a little short, I cut everything except the first paragraph and transferred it over to my blog post.  Then I realized just how often I do this, and thought to myself, “Hey!  This is a great way to find something to write about when I’ve got nothing to write about!” which led to thinking, “This would make a great blog post!”  And here you have it!
  3. Find and follow a few bloggers that you tend to disagree with.  Basically your polar opposite in almost every view.  This is a fantastic source for inspiration.  What better way to find something to blog about?  I actually have one of these myself (no, I won’t mention names!) and I find their blog an excellent source of inspiration.  I don’t post a blatant rebuttal, but I allow myself to think about why I disagree with them about a topic, and to find my own voice on the subject, my own point of view, and let it flow.  Sometimes it’s obvious if you were to see the posts side-by-side, but more often than not, it’s only one simple opinion or statement they make that sets me on a whole new route, and they don’t resemble the other post at all, but that post sparked the inspiration in my to share my thoughts on a particular subject.
  4. When all else fails, do a prompt search.  I know they can be cheesy, corny or downright uninspiring, but again, sometimes it just takes getting started to let the words come on their own, or spark a great idea for a post.
  5. This one isn’t so much a tip as it is a suggestion; RELAX!  Your readers follow you because they like what you have to say, not because you post X amount of posts every X days, with no less than X words.  If it’s not there, after you give it your very best to find it, then your readers will appreciate you not giving them junk just to fill the space. 🙂

I really hope that these suggestions help you.  They really help me when I’m having trouble.  My personal favorite suggestion is #2, because it’s given me the most (and best) posts, plus, it allows me to share other bloggers, because these posts usually end up with a link to the other blogger’s post somewhere in my writing.

If you have any other suggestions for curing Blogger’s Block, I’d love to hear them, because we can always use the extra push sometimes!

9 Responses to “Breaking Through Blogger’s Block”

  1. vozey August 16, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

    Absolutely agree. Especially the order. Write works for just about anything. Your brain doesn’t go into work mode until you start working sometimes. Sometimes it is even okay to follow an idea that sucks. The good thing about writing is that if you don’t like it, you can change it. Just makes sure you put your tags on it, gah, I hate when I publish without my tags.

    Oh, and your background drowned my slow internet speed. Their new motion backgrounds don’t work so well with slow internet connections.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 16, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

      Aww! I’m sorry 😦 I hate that it does that… I didn’t know… is there some setting that you can use to make it stop? The background isn’t there when I view my blog on my phone… is it possible to access the mobile site on the computer?

      Like

      • vozey August 16, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

        does it give a different address in the address bar for a mobile device? If so, that might work.

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos August 16, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

          Some addresses have an ‘m.’ in front… checking mine now…

          Blah. No… I just pulled it up on my phone and no… it’s the same address… I guess it just knows that a mobile device is accessing it. 😦

          Like

          • vozey August 16, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

            I think so. I looked. Chrome as a plug-in. Blah!

            But, I don’t mind, I’m use to it anymore, livin’ out in the boonies with a 512kbits internet.

            You might want to think of others though. Sometimes it doesn’t seem to me that there are others, 😦 but a change of background/background theme may be beneficial.

            Like

  2. Joshua Bagby August 17, 2013 at 12:28 am #

    My favorite tip is to either keep a file folder for blog post starts or to have blog post starts as drafts. Often I will get some great ideas for posts … maybe a title, maybe a subject, maybe a quote, whatever, and I will start. But I won;t have enough creative oomph to write the whole thing. So I just put it aside. My creative unconscious will chew on it. Then I will come back to my starts and see if I have new brilliant ideas to add to it.

    I absolutely do not believe in having to complete a post on the first draft. No, no, no. Anyway, some of your other great suggestions will work in tandem with this.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 17, 2013 at 1:26 am #

      Thanks, Josh! Good to see ya! Thanks for adding that great tip! (I think I mention it in one of my upcoming scheduled posts but I’m not sure…) I do the same thing. I always start a draft when I get an idea, even if I don’t have the time or ‘creative oomph’ to finish it 🙂

      Like

  3. knitwhitwithapen August 17, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    Brilliant! Reading this just made me want to write write write! Thank you for every single word.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 17, 2013 at 1:49 am #

      Awesome! I’m glad to hear that this post is ‘Muse Approved’ 😀 LOL

      Thanks for the visit, and for the comment!

      Like

Share your thoughts!

