Committing Kindness – A Father’s Love

14 Aug
Commit Random Kindness

Commit Random Kindness (Photo credit: ganesha.isis)

I know I sound like a broken record these last few days, with all these posts about Committing Kindness, but I just can’t seem to get it out of my head.  I hope that instead of getting bored, you all are enjoying these posts.  Today I’d like to share something that I found that really impressed me, and I hope that it impresses you, too.

I ran across this blog entitled “366 Random Acts“, in which a father took it upon himself to commit 366 acts of kindness for either strangers, friends or family members because he wanted to make the world a better place for his 3 month old daughter to live.  This ‘year + 1’ of selfless acts has since been completed, and he is now gearing up for his next adventure in kindness which he has titled ‘State of Kind’ in which he plans to commit an act of kindness in each of the 50 states.  Following is an excerpt from one of his favorite acts, Day 330 entitled ‘Walked In Someone Else’s Shoes’.

“I am 6’3″ and 200 lbs., but today I felt no bigger than [my daughter] Isla .  Hundreds upon hundreds of people walked by me without looking at or even acting as though I was invisible.  People whispered about me as they walked by, and some even snickered at me.  It actually got me pretty down and depressed.  However, every once in a while, someone would come up to me, ask me how I was doing, and put something into my tattered pink Solo cup.”

This entry is entirely worth the read, and I highly recommend doing so.  It will really touch your heart.  I also highly recommend Day 14, as well.  I intend to read many of his posts from last year, and I hope that it may inspire some of you to Commit Kindness as a part of your daily lives as well.

Hope & Serenity,

~A

 

3 Responses to “Committing Kindness – A Father’s Love”

  1. Ann "afriendforever54" Friend August 14, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    Awesome! God bless you 😊

    Like

Share your thoughts!

