Acts of Kindness – The Forgotten

13 Aug
Random Thoughts of Kindness Barnstar

Random Thoughts of Kindness Barnstar (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is going to be a really quick one, as I let time slip away from me and I’m falling asleep at the wheel.  Well, keyboard to be precise.

These last few days I’ve been posting about Acts of Kindness.  Today I’d like to mention a sub-chapter of this that I haven’t really touched on so far.  Acts of Kindness toward ourselves.

Most of us speak to and treat ourselves worse than we would ever treat anyone else on the planet.  We deprive ourselves of sleep and good nutrition.  We talk to and about ourselves like we were the lowest of the low, usually holding ourselves to standards that would be unthinkable in regard to any other person on the planet.  We curse ourselves for not knowing things we couldn’t possibly have known, hold grudges against ourselves for things we couldn’t have possibly prevented or known the outcome of and eternally carry resentment for the slightest mistakes.

Today, I’d like to challenge you all to take a moment and commit an Act of Kindness toward yourself, with the true spirit of kindness.

Here’s a little list to get you started:

  1. Look at yourself in the mirror and compliment yourself the way you would if you were greeting a close friend.
  2. Think of something you’ve done recently that you berated yourself for, something that you would have shown understanding to another person had they done the same thing (making a wrong turn, knocking over a glass of water, etc.) and forgive yourself.
  3. Stand up for yourself when others put you down.  You are just as deserving of respect as the next person.
  4. Take a long, hot bath and give your body a few moments of complete relaxation.  Regardless of what it looks like, it’s gotten you through another day, and it deserves a break now and then.
  5. Get a good night’s rest.  Whatever it is that seems so important will still be there when you wake up and a good night’s rest is one of the kindest things you can do for your body and your mind.

On that note, I will take my own advice and bid you all good night, and hie myself off to bed for a good night’s rest!

Let me know how you were kind to yourself today, this was a short, quick list, and I’d love it if some of you shared some more ideas on how to be kind to ourselves!

Have a great day and thanks for stopping by!

5 Responses to “Acts of Kindness – The Forgotten”

  1. kerrichronicles August 13, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    I spent time in prayer while driving to work this morning. That’s the kindest way to start my day. I’ll have to plan the rest.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 13, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

      Taking the time to strengthen/renew/uphold/discover our faith is an excellent way to be kind to ourselves! Thank you for sharing!

      Like

  2. spiritchild1972 August 13, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    Your talking about me there lol I eat only twice a day, put myself down constantly, hate the way I look and make my eyes go blurry when I have to look at myself in the mirror. I put myself down first before anyone I meet does it for me. I never rest when I should or stop when I’m supposed to leaving me sore and achy and getting told off by both Mr and Doctors lol but I’m a Mum so what can I do? I am however very happy, very in love with my man of 15 years and grateful for my life. I just need to work on my self esteem which is ironic because I’m surrounded by the dead that tell me constantly what a treasure I am lol my Mum used to say ‘You can’t polish a turd’ lol so no matter who tells me and how, I will always be unpolishable I think but it’s okay. When your in pain all the time it’s hard to feel pretty. I know my day is coming though. Spirit have told me that. Sort the tummy, sort me. But I know the source of it all though and I’ve dealt with my past so now I just need to work on me for my future. But I agree with you 100%, great post babes.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pity The Sun (A ‘Be Kind To Yourself’ Comment Rebuttal) | Free, Fun or Interesting - August 13, 2013

    […] following comment was made in response to this post, I generally don’t publicize people’s comments this way, but I didn’t want to let […]

    Like

Share your thoughts!

