Restoring Faith In Humanity

11 Aug
Random Acts of Kindness

Random Acts of Kindness (Photo credit: Courtney Dirks)

I think that most of us, when we take a moment to contemplate it, consider ourselves good people.  With all of the terrible things happening around us every day, I think it’s easy to lose faith in humanity.  We forget that deep down, almost all of us like to do nice things for other people.  It makes us feel good- about ourselves and about each other.

Some of you may have read my post yesterday about my shock at discovering all the bad stuff about fluoride.  While I took it upon myself to make a post about it and to find a fluoride filtering water pitcher, I realized that although it was important to inform myself and try to keep others informed about things, there was no need for me to dwell on them.  Instead, I should be dwelling on good things, positive things that uplift me which will in turn uplift those around me.  So, to counteract yesterday’s negative post, today I am posting something positive.

I’ve been reading and watching a lot of sad and/or depressing things the
past few days, and I’d definitely noticed a shift in my mood toward the
lower end of the scale, but today I read a few posts on a blog that I
follow that reminded me that we aren’t all oblivious and selfish, that
just because there really are bad things out there, that doesn’t mean
that there isn’t good out there too, and I’d like to share one of those good things with you.

Christine is a college student, published writer and blogger who takes her mission statement of inspiring happiness and helping others achieve their goals seriously, and puts her money where her mouth is.  Her blog, Project Light to Life, is a truly inspirational account of her journey to fulfill her ‘bucket list’… but she doesn’t stop at just any self-indulging bucket list.  She’s also created a “Kind Acts & Volunteering” bucket list, the crossing off of which she shares with her readers.

Most recently, she has crossed off #12, #13 & #38.  #12 was to leave flowers on a stranger’s doorstep (which she did, along with a note as to why, to prevent an angry spouse!) and #13 was to give out flowers at a retirement home, which she combined with #38, which was to spend time with the elderly at a retirement home.  She describes her actions, as well as posts pictures to share with her readers.

We’ve all seen movies like ‘Pay It Forward’ and thought how great random acts of kindness are, and we may have even done one or two after being inspired, but most of us get distracted and hyper-focused on our own lives and problems, forgetting that one of the best ways to feel good about ourselves and inject our lives with a little bit of happiness is to do something selfless and kind for another human being.

I’d like to ask each of you to take a moment and visit Christine’s blog, and show your support for her and what she’s doing.  I’d also like to challenge each of you to come up with your own random act of kindness to perform in the next day or two.  I’d love for you to come back and share what it was you decided to do.

Here’s a list of Random Acts Of Kindness ideas:

  1. Pay the toll for the car behind you on the highway.
  2. Buy a cup of coffee for the person in line behind you at the drive-thru
  3. Pay for a stranger’s gas (someone did this for me once, and I’ll never forget it.  I never even saw his face.)
  4. Leave an envelope taped to a vending machine with change inside and a note outside marking it as a Random Act Of Kindness
  5. Pick up the lunch tab for a stranger in the same restaurant as you.
  6. Take your child* on a ‘field trip’ to a nursing home to deliver flowers to the residents.  Bring a polaroid camera and lots of film, so that you can leave the residents a memento, and use a digital camera if you want pictures for yourself.  *make sure not to do this if your child is sick… the elderly can be very vulnerable to sickness. 
  7. Rake leaves or shovel snow for your neighbor while they’re sleeping or at work.
  8. Let someone go in front of you in line.  If you really want to rack up the kindness points, do this at a government building… THAT is showing love to your fellow man! LOL
  9. Bake a cake and take it to your local rescue/fire department (even better if it’s volunteer) with a note thanking them for their service.
  10. Next time a cashier asks if you’d like to donate $1 to a cause tell her yes, and when it’s time to write your name on the card they hang on the wall, write their name instead.

For more ideas, visit the Random Acts of Kindness Foundation website or Christine’s blog, or simply do a Google search.

I hope that one or two of you will take me up on this challenge.  I have an idea for my own act of kindness… perhaps I’ll post about it tomorrow 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Restoring Faith In Humanity”

  1. Indrajit Rathore August 11, 2013 at 6:28 am #

    In India we have a religious sect called the Jains who practice non violence and vegetarinism to an extreme – like feeding ants and taking care not to step on them – not eating root vegetables as they may harbour living organisms etc they also have a day in the year when they send out cards to all people they know, unconditionally asking them for their forgiveness for any wrongdoing which may have hurt them, as a form of humility to over come the ego. im reminded of the Jains from Chritine leaving flowers at people’s doors

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 11, 2013 at 6:34 am #

      While some of the practices you mention are a little too extreme for me, personally (I kill any spider I see inside my home… EW!) But the card thing and leaving flowers for people is a great idea. If everyone were so kind and generous, what a wonderful world we would live in!

      I’ve just done my Random Act of Kindness, and will be making the blog post on it shortly! 🙂

      Thank you so much for sharing that with me!

      Like

  2. Dilshaad Camroodien August 11, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    The beginning reminded me of this quote by Rita Schiano that kinda just stuck with me, “Talking about our problems is our greatest addiction. Break the habit. Talk about your joys”. Perhaps you might find it as inspiring as I did. 🙂 Thumbs up for a the random acts of kindness, I am definitely moved!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 11, 2013 at 9:57 am #

      That’s a great quote! Thank you for sharing it with me. I don’t know if it’s human nature, or just American nature, but we sure do like to complain! I try to remember to be thankful and grateful for the good things in my life more than I complain about the not so good things, but I often fall short of that goal.

      If you happen to commit a random act of kindness, I’d love to hear about it!

      Have a great day, and thanks for visiting and sharing on my blog!

      Like

  3. Dilshaad Camroodien August 11, 2013 at 10:13 am #

    lol I think its a human nature thing, I’ll even go as far as to say its more greatly found in women, we like to talk. Sometimes complaining is just something to talk about and yes I’ll definitely get back to you on that 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Restoring Faith In Humanity Part II – Taking Action | Free, Fun or Interesting - August 11, 2013

    […] in my post Restoring Faith In Humanity, I challenged others to commit one Random Act of Kindness, and stated that I would be committing my […]

    Like

Share your thoughts!

