…For Tonight We Die.

9 Aug
English: Seated Buddha Amitabha statue, west s...

English: Seated Buddha Amitabha statue, west side of Borobudur, ca. 1863-1866. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been seeing a lot of posts lately about reincarnation.  Not necessarily about the term, but referencing it in regards to various things so it’s been on my mind a lot, which may explain why it was the topic of my latest ‘flash of enlightening’ (as I like to call them).  They usually come to me either while talking to ‘deep thinkers’, sleeping, or after partaking in mind-altering substances.  I’ll plead the fifth on where this one originated.  😉

I think most of us are familiar with the traditional idea of reincarnation.  Your soul is born into a ‘fresh’ body, and then you have a lifetime to live right, and when you die, it happens all over again.  Rinse and repeat until you get it right, to reach some cosmic ‘good soul’ level, and get to move on to the next phase of existence.

But why wait?

If you really think about it, you are ‘reincarnated’ every single day.  Every morning, you awake and have another chance to get things right.  You have another chance to be a better person, to make right decisions, and to right the wrongs you’ve done in this life.  On top of that, you have the added bonus of being able to remember the mistakes you’ve made, and not make them again.

If you consider things in the eternal sense, how long is one lifetime, really?  Maybe the equivalent of one day in this lifetime?  When you wake in the morning, is that not the equivalent of your soul waking in a new body?  When you fall asleep at the end of the day, is it not similar to dying at the end of this life?  Do you not suffer the consequences in later days for the actions and decisions of today?  Karma doesn’t wait a lifetime to show up.  The life you have today is a result of the decisions you made yesterday, and tomorrow will feel the effects of today.

How different would not only this world be, but how different would YOU be if you approached each day as your one chance to get it right?  If we thought of karma not as a result that shows up in our next lives, but in our next days?  Would you show more kindness if your life were measured in hours instead of years?  Would you make more of an effort to show love to your family and friends?

I think we would all be better people if we lived each day as if it were our last.

If we treated each person we love as though we may never see them again, would we still behave so casually when we said goodbye?  Would we hold on to grudges so tightly if we paused to consider just how short life actually is?  Would we walk past the homeless like they didn’t exist if we knew that this was our one shot to do the right thing?

I like to think not.

It doesn’t matter if you believe in reincarnation of the soul after death or not, if we all believed that each morning we awoke to our one chance to do the right thing, the world would never be the same.  Live each day as though it were your last- because it very well may be.

Definition of REINCARNATION

1
a : the action of reincarnating : the state of being reincarnated

 b : rebirth in new bodies or forms of life; especially : a rebirth of a soul in a new human body
2
: a fresh embodiment
8 Responses to “…For Tonight We Die.”

  1. Indrajit Rathore August 10, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    My blog ( which you have recently visited) is almost entirely devoted to this subject from the point of view of all major religions particularly miy own ( Hinduism) – your perspective is entirely correct – Karma acts both NOW on a continuing basis and as leftover where it cannot accomodate a reaction in this life – so we should live each moment as a reincarnation – perfectly said – reincarnation becomes necessary because the body can only last less than a 100 years whereas your soul may need to experience over a really long span of time – so new bodies for more experience.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 10, 2013 at 4:55 am #

      Thank you for visiting and commenting! While I am not entirely convinced that our Karma carries over to the next life if we are, indeed, reincarnated, I do believe that our actions cause rippling effects in our lives. I guess you could say I am in the process of creating my own faith from what feels right in my heart. Thank you for sharing, and please feel free to chime in on what your personal faith has to say about anything I post about… I don’t know much about Hinduism, so a different point of view is always welcome. I believe we all have something to learn from one another 🙂

      Like

      • Indrajit Rathore August 10, 2013 at 5:07 am #

        sure, you said it – in the end they all say the same thing, leaving aside the semantics and some dogma – dogma is like a sheet you give a child to draw and scribble on – when he becomes good you give him a bigger sheet and the outlines of his experience change and enlarge.

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos August 10, 2013 at 5:22 am #

          Learning that there was originally references to reincarnation in the Bible, and I wasn’t taught this growing up, makes me angry. It makes me feel that I’ve been lied to my entire life. I’m not angry at my parents, they only taught me what they were taught, but I am angry at the ministers and preachers who supposedly were educated about our religion. If this is so, why were we not told about it? Why has it been struck from our texts, and banished to ‘temptations of the devil’?

          I’ve had a very surprising day. Finding out this, and also finding out how dangerous it really is to flouridate our water supply. Things I always thought were the ravings of mad conspiracy theorists are actually coming to light as being true. It’s scary, and upsetting, and is turning my world upside down.

          Like

          • Indrajit Rathore August 10, 2013 at 5:41 am #

            It happened a long time back – Roman Emperor Constatine with the enthusiasm of a new convert ( rRme had after all crucified Christ) did what he believed was right and The Council of Constantinople affirmed his views centuries later – there was no room for speculative mysticism when you had to prescribe dogma and take responsibility for your ‘flock’ when some views conflicted with others making the teachings appear contradictory – in the Jewish faith too there was a similar ‘cleansing’, consigning such controversial thought as proposed by the Kabbalah to the fringes. Every branch of the church has a different interpretation ( Protestantism for example ) and a person then chooses which version of the truth appeals to him and then he/she aligns with the denomination which he feels comfortable with. The Gnostics and Kabbalah then move to the fringes with their limited followers – it is not really a question of getting angry but exploring the branch that you wish to be with.

            Like

            • KraftedKhaos August 10, 2013 at 6:03 am #

              Well, the anger comes into play when I think about how things get censored to ‘encourage’ the public to fall into line with what the powers that be think we should do. To keep us in line, so to speak.

              I’ve always scoffed at conspiracy theorists, because I felt as though they were paranoid and more than slightly annoying, but suddenly I find that the more I question and investigate, the more invalid information I find in things that I had always accepted as truth.

              While I can accept that certain things feel true to some people while to others they do not, what I find unacceptable is the omission of information in the attempt to gain compliance; meaning anyone (religion, government, etc.) taking away my right to choose by lying and/or omitting the truth.

              I’m all for a person choosing which faction of a religion to be a part of, but when the people in charge start omitting information, the are taking away my ability to make an informed decision. I was raised in church. For 18 years I went to church, twice on Sunday and usually a weekday as well, and not once did any of the ministers ever mention that reincarnation was once in the bible. Not once. It makes me wonder what else I haven’t been informed about. What else was kept from Christians in an effort to ‘cleanse’ their religion from contradiction? That is the source of my irritation/anger.

              Like

  2. nikkir1972 August 10, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Interesting topic and I like your take on it. The Bible says we are to “die daily,” and I suppose the same can be said that we also “reincarnate” daily. Something I will ponder today in interest…thank you!:)

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 10, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

      Thanks for commenting! Glad you liked it. When this idea came to me, I literally felt like I’d discovered the secret to life. Obviously time has lessened the impact of the idea to me, but I still thought it worth sharing. 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts!

