Inspiration – Get it? Got it? Good.

31 Jul
English: A palette of watercolours and a brush...

English: A palette of watercolours and a brush. Deutsch: Wasserfarben und Pinsel. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This morning, I was causally going through my reader, when I came across a blog post I had seen yesterday, glanced at the excerpt, and somehow gotten distracted and not actually read.  Having the time now, I clicked on it.  Oh, happy day!  What a joy to read! 

The other day, I had pulled out my old acrylics and decided I’d try to paint a picture.  I decided I’d stick to abstract, since it requires less drawing skills (of which I sorely lack, outside of the occasional stroke of luck), and it turned out terrible.  I put the paper down, washed out my brushes and said to myself, “Well, that was just as bad as I thought it was going to be. ” and left the room.  I haven’t touched my paints since, because in my mind, I’d just reiterated to myself the fact that I can’t paint worth a damn.

While I was reading this post, my mind flashed to those paints, and that horrible painting, and I actually wanted to try again.  I actually wanted to paint a bad picture.  It had done what I have been unable to do for myself my entire life…

It gave me hope in the face of failure.

And for that, I thank you.

I don’t know about what life was like for you growing up, but for me, it was a conflicting set of messages.  On one hand, I was told that it is better to try and fail than to not try at all, but on the other hand, when I did try something that was important, for instance a particular math class that I got a D in, and didn’t do well, I was berated and occasionally punished for not succeeding.  This taught me that not trying was a private failure, but trying and failing was a public one which, quite frankly, was much easier to take quietly from myself for not trying at all than taking shamefully from someone else for failing.

What I love most about this post is that it’s not just a post about giving yourself permission to fail.  Who the heck wants that?  What it does is gives the hope that through failure, success can be obtained; and that, in a nutshell, is what makes it absolutely beautiful… and why I considered it worthy to have its own post.

Please take a moment to check it out, and see for yourself if you don’t feel a little less intimidated about trying something that either A) is new to you or B) you just know isn’t your strong suite.

 

12 Responses to “Inspiration – Get it? Got it? Good.”

  1. nikkir1972 July 31, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    That reminds me of my own art which I sorely ignore much of the time…..I get out of practice, then make a stab at it and when I don’t like the results avoid again. Not the best attitude to take towards creativity, I do myself in mentally before starting, lol.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos July 31, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

      Ditto.

      I usually put it off simply because I can’t bear the feeling of inadequacy that I feel for not being able to put what I see in my head down on paper. It’s quite annoying, lol.

      Like

      • nikkir1972 July 31, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

        Me too!!!! Sometimes I get inspired and start to draw, then I look and think…what the hell is it? LOL

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos July 31, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

          yep! Nothing is more frustrating than seeing a beautiful image in your head and not being able to capture it on paper… well, nothing except those times when you can’t see ANYTHING in your head!

          Like

  2. PinotNinja July 31, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    I constantly struggle with a fear of failure. I was raised in a way where I was consistently punished if I didn’t get a perfect grade on a test or didn’t win the race or didn’t nail the audition, which left me to sort out a gigantic pile of self-doubt in my old age.

    Thanks for this. It’s a good reminder that, just because I was raised that way, doesn’t mean that its the right way!

    And with that, I’m going out for a run. I will certainly fail at moments. I will sweat a lot, I will probably need to stop and walk, I will definitely go slower than I want to. But, its sunny and beautiful out and I’m going to have a lovely time not living up to crazy expectations. And that’s all that matters!

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 1, 2013 at 10:26 am #

      Well, that- and not getting tickets while jogging 😉 That’s still my favorite post ever, btw.

      I agree, about the reminder, which is why I was so happy to have found that post- completely by chance, and it made my day.

      Have a great run!

      Like

  3. A Stroke of Life August 1, 2013 at 1:30 am #

    I’ve never been able to draw or paint. Last summer I broke my right wrist and hand, I’m right handed. Anyway the gift and beauty and message that all things are possible is I started painting with my left hand. All the paitingtings I post on my blog are pictures I painted with my let hand, Every time I look at one it amazes me what I was able to do with a little determination and belief in myself.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos August 1, 2013 at 10:29 am #

      Isn’t it funny how things seem to work out sometimes? That when something bad happens, given enough time and perspective, we are always able to see some sort of positive come out of it? Life is funny like that.

      Like

  4. A Stroke of Life August 1, 2013 at 1:33 am #

    Reblogged this on astrokeoflife and commented:
    This post reminded me we all have something we aren’t perfect at but we all can do our best at everything and that in itself is inspiring.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Inspiration – Get it? Got it? Good. | astrokeoflife - August 1, 2013

    […] Inspiration – Get it? Got it? Good.. […]

    Like

  2. Inspiration – Get it? Got it? Good. | A Stroke of Life - August 1, 2014

    […] Inspiration – Get it? Got it? Good.. […]

    Like

Share your thoughts!

