I’d Rather Clean-Up Than Work-Out

12 Jun
Fresh vegetables are important components of a...

Fresh vegetables are important components of a healthy diet. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, I’ve been playing around more on that site I found, and I’ve decided that they have one feature that I really like.  The ‘Add Activity’ log.  I said before that I don’t exercise.  I don’t like to, I have no one to help alleviate the boredom, and I usually don’t like to be bothered to do anything that requires me to put on shoes except shopping.

The ‘Activity Log’ benefits me two-fold.  Firstly, it’s like a game, because I wrack my brain trying to come up with something to add on there to subtract a few calories, secondly, those things I come up with usually involve activities like housework.  So, I’m getting up off my butt, and at the same time finding a reason to do some cleaning!  In the last two days, I’ve vacuumed upstairs and down, done about five loads of laundry (including putting it away!), made the bed, and washed my dishes by hand, all because I wanted to add stuff to my log.  I considered going out and raking the yard a little bit, but that’s going a little bit overboard, methinks.

I’ve also cut out tea almost completely which, if you knew me well, you’d know is an amazing feat in and of itself.  I just don’t understand why since I’ve done so, I seem to be hungry all the time.  I’m sure that could have something to do with the change in my eating habits as well, but I just don’t remember feeling this hungry all the time.  Does this have something to do with my metabolism? The empty calories I’ve cut out of my diet (+/- 700!)?  I just don’t understand it.  (It’s just dawned on me that it could very well be the fact that I’m about to start my period… I always get terrible munchy urges around this time…)

I’m also beginning to see some benefit to the whole ‘counting calories’ and ‘weighing/portioning’ that I’ve been doing.  All my life, a ‘portion’ has been however much I can scoop onto my plate while still leaving some for the rest of the family.  Proper portion sizes didn’t exist when I was growing up, so it’s not something that I know or understand.  Eventually, I expect that I will learn to ‘eyeball’ the right amount, or at least look at what I have on my plate and know that it’s actually more than one portion, and adjust my intake accordingly, but I can’t do that until I’ve spent some time learning what the right amount actually is.

As said in the comments on my post yesterday, I don’t want to ‘diet’, not really.  What I really want is to change the way I look at food, the food I consume, my health, and of course, my weight.  I have a family history of heart disease, diabetes, Aortic Aneurisms, cancer, obesity, high cholesterol… and the list keeps going.  I’ve already had to have my gallbladder removed.  At 32, I can no longer sit with my head in the sand, ignoring the warnings laid out in the health of those who have gone before me.  If I don’t do something about it now by choice, I will either be forced to later down the road, or I will be one of the unlucky ones that don’t get a second chance.

I do enough shit that will kill me, I don’t need to add food to that list.

~A

PS- I ate so good today, I get a serving of Tin Roof Sundae Ice Cream. 

A serving is 1/2 cup.     

O.o    Really? 

Better than nothing, I guess!

18 Responses to “I’d Rather Clean-Up Than Work-Out”

  1. Katie June 12, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Weighing food?! Say what!

    Cleaning to burn some calories?! Insane.

    You gotta do what works for you. I wish I could see enough value in cleaning to do some of it to burn calories… I’d rather slave away on the elliptical going nowhere and watching boring CNN.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos June 12, 2013 at 9:13 am #

      LOL, well, considering it’s something I have to do anyway, at least being able to log it into my calorie counter gives me a little extra motivation to do it! 😉

      I couldn’t believe that the tiny piece of chicken I had in my wrap for dinner tonight was 96g! I would have eaten about 3x that amount if I hadn’t weighed it. Once I get used to knowing what correct portion sizes look like, I won’t have to actually weigh everything, but for someone who has never seen correct portions, I guess it’s necessary.

      BTW… Broccoli? One of my favorite veggies, too! 😀

      Like

  2. PinotNinja June 12, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    Cheers to being healthy! Although being hungry all the time doesn’t sound so great. I don’t know if it comports with the diet changes you’re trying to make, but what if, when you’re still starving, you can go crazy eating leafy greens. At least for me, I need to be solidly hungry before tearing into a plate of steamed kale, so it works as a good proxy for whether I’m hungry because my body actually needs food or I’m “hungry” because I feel like putting something delicious in my mouth. And, when I clean, I usually crank up some dance music (particularly of the 80s variety) and bust out some serious dance moves while I’m scrubbing and vacuuming. I don’t know if it really burns any more calories, but it definitely makes it a lot more fun.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos June 13, 2013 at 6:16 am #

      Weird thing is, today, I’m having the opposite problem. I feel like I’ve been eating non-stop all day to meet not only my calorie intake goals, but my nutritional goals as well.

      Funny how much food you have to eat when you stop getting over 1000 calories a day from beverages o.O

      And yes, the more energetically you clean, the more calories it burns… heh… aerobic housework… something tells me it will never catch on. LOL.

      I had to eat a BOWL of cantaloupe today to meet my potassium. Not that I’m complaining. I love cantaloupe. I’m just not used to eating so MUCH food.

      I seriously think my body is in nutrient shock.

      Like

  3. spiritchild1972S July 18, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    My Dad who died at the age of 59 from genetic heart dieases used to say ‘I would rather die with a pie in one hand a smoke in the other at 60 than live to 100 and eating nothing but celery and wheat germ’ lol He was in the Army and the pathologist said ‘Apart from his heart his organs were like that of a man in his 20’s’ It’s all about moderation aye? I used to starve myself for two days just so I could have a night out. We do some stupid things to lose weight. I just wish I could look at myself in the mirror now and not blur my eyes lol But I also wish I had your will power and healthy attitude towards food. I used to be like you but now I’m mostly yelling at my kids or tired. I skip meals constantly and wonder why I get the shakes lol

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos July 18, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

      Well, I’ve definitely fallen off of the bandwagon lately… I’ve been terribly busy and don’t have the time, but I have been trying to keep my portions to a human level, instead of at an equine level 😉

      Like

      • spiritchild1972S July 18, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

        HAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA your so funny hahahaha My husband is like ‘Huh? Its nearly midnight what are you laughing at?’ lol When I was pregnant I used to get so hungry I would almost literally throw food at my face lol My husband thought it was hilarious because I was eating more than him. I just couldn’t get it into my face fast enough. It would hit my shoulder and everything, like Fat Bastard on Austin Powers lol but then I had 10 plus pounders lol they are both tall and skinny now and I still look like Fat Bastard lol and now I live in Scotland to boot lol

        Like

        • KraftedKhaos July 18, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

          LOL! Hilarious! Trust me, I can pack away the food! Not as much now as I used to be able to, but still… I can out-eat most men I know, including my Love, LOL!

          I happen to like Fat Bastard… minus the evilness, of course, lol. But I think he’s one of the funniest characters from the entire series of movies!

          Like

          • spiritchild1972S July 19, 2013 at 6:54 am #

            Yeah and I bet you weight like 90lbs or something lol I just need to look at a cake and I put on 100lbs lol I get fat, starving honestly lol Fat bastard was pretty cool. I’ve got my own ‘Dead Sexy Scotsman’ but he isn’t fat and he’s 6 foot 5 and a half.

            Like

            • KraftedKhaos July 19, 2013 at 7:00 am #

              LOL @ 90lbs. I haven’t weighed 90 since I was in elementary school… I’ve been hovering between 175 – 185 since I was married, and it looks like that’s where I’m going to stay without some serious effort on my part… which I have neither the time, nor inclination, to do, LOL. My Love loves me the way I am, and I would rather die happy than die healthy. 😉

              Like

              • spiritchild1972S July 19, 2013 at 7:39 am #

                Yeah I’m about 687lbs but I’m tall so I only look about 680lbs hahaha Your a Cancer, your gonna be hot even if you were Apple shaped. Cancers just have that…….juno se qua. My friend Leanne back in NZ, she is a Cancer, and she is ALL woman. She has so much confidence and self esteem, I really admire her for that. She has this smouldering, sexy thing about her. I would to have that level of self esteem and confidence.

                Like

                • KraftedKhaos July 19, 2013 at 8:00 am #

                  You and me, both! Self-esteem and self-confidence are two of the things I lack. I feel like I know WHY, but knowing what caused an injury doesn’t heal it, unfortunately.

                  Like

                  • spiritchild1972S July 19, 2013 at 10:30 am #

                    It drives my husband up the wall and I’m always being told off for putting myself down. I’m not really 680 pounds ya know lol I feel like it though lol I too know where it stems from. I’m just trying hard not to let my sons hear me doing it because I don’t want them seeing me any other way than normal to them. They tell me I’m Beautiful or my oldest will say He wants to marry a Mama like me and I have to hold myself back from saying something cheeky like ‘Oh no boy, go for someone who isn’t beached’ lol I don’t though. It makes me sad sometimes that i have no confidence but I have my family to thank for that lol I’m not bitter though, I just deal with it.

                    Like

                    • KraftedKhaos July 19, 2013 at 10:42 am #

                      I’d rather be attractive on the inside and ugly on the outside, than being attractive on the outside and ugly on the inside! And I can tell you’re one of the most beautiful people I’ve ever ‘met’ on the inside!

                      Like

                    • spiritchild1972S July 19, 2013 at 10:45 am #

                      Even though I’m ugly on the outside? hahahahahahaha walked into that one matey lol haha
                      Awww thank you, I love you too 🙂 your magnetic.

                      Like

                    • KraftedKhaos July 19, 2013 at 10:49 am #

                      Drat! I knew I left something out of what I wrote, LMAO! I totally meant to say ‘Not that any of us are UGLY’, and it completely vanished from my mind while I was typing!

                      Like

                    • spiritchild1972S July 19, 2013 at 11:00 am #

                      hahahahahaha that was brilliant hahahahaha

                      Like

                    • KraftedKhaos July 19, 2013 at 11:01 am #

                      My foot is no stranger to my mouth, LOL… I put it in there all the time!

                      Like

Share your thoughts!

