Moderation – Forget the Key, I Can’t Even Find the Door

11 Jun
my old analog food scale & new digital food scale

my old analog food scale & new digital food scale (Photo credit: Newbirth35)

Who knew that trying to eat healthy was so damn hard?  I mean, forget the ‘trying to lose weight‘ thing… I’m just talking about tracking what you eat in general.  Weighing out food, searching nutrition labels and ingredients like Nicholas Cage looking for the National Treasure- it’s pretty ridiculous.  Now I remember why I don’t like to go on diets.

I know I said I wasn’t going to go overboard with this losing weight thing, but I got sucked into this site through an app on my phone, because I went looking for the calorie count in something I’d eaten.  All I really wanted was to keep track of my weight, and heaven knows a pencil and notepad just won’t do; I need a fancy app to be able to admire my weight change wherever I happen to be.

The problem is that the fancy apps come with other fancy little features that are just too enticing to ignore- like telling you how many calories you need to consume (or not) to lose weight at a steady, healthy pace.  That’s good information to know, right?  However, knowing that, I then need to know how many calories I’m consuming, to make sure I’m staying below that magic number.  That’s where it sucks you in.  Suddenly, I find myself weighing, calculating, calorie-counting and obsessing.

I generally eat pretty unhealthy.  ‘Proper’ portions are laughable to me, because no one could eat that tiny of an amount of food and not be starving again in fifteen minutes, I usually eat until I’m stuffed, instead of until I’m no longer hungry, and what I usually eat is usually bad for me- fatty, fried, full of sugar and empty calories.  Besides, junk food just tastes good, and is easy to prepare.

I like the Twinkies and Fudge Rounds and Oatmeal Cream Pies in my cabinet (yes, they’re really there, and no, I haven’t touched them since I decided I wanted to lose weight).  I like eating sandwiches and french fries and a big, fat steak.  These are not things I want to give up from my life, no matter how bad they are for me.  If I feel like I have to, it’s just going to piss me off.  If that makes me lazy and self-indulgent, so be it.  It’s nothing I didn’t already know about myself.

There’s got to be some sort of middle ground here, some way to go about this less obsessively.  I know myself well enough to know that if I continue trying to count every single calorie that passes my lips, it won’t take long before I say “Fuck it, it’s not worth the hassle” and give up.  I won’t eat the things I like because I’ll be too worried about how many calories I’m scarfing, or I’ll eat them, then not eat proper meals to make up for it.

I think moderation is key here, not just in what I eat, but how I eat.  The only problem is, I don’t know how.  I don’t know how to eat healthy without obsessing, and I don’t know how to indulge without going overboard.  It’s aggravating.  Plus I’m grumpy because I’ve stopped drinking tea (other than a small glass with breakfast) and I’m going through sugar and caffeine withdrawals – while PMSing.

On the bright side, my darling better half told me the other day that my yoga pants (I don’t do yoga, I just find the pants really comfy and ass-flattering) weren’t looking as good anymore because they were beginning to get a little baggy in the rear, so we went to Burlington Coat Factory and bought some new ones.  In medium.  I know it’s kind of cheating because they’re stretchy everywhere, including the waistband, but it makes me feel good, nonetheless.

And they make my ass look fabulous.

If you have any suggestions or helpful hints, please don’t hesitate to leave them for me in the comments section… I need all the help I can get!

~A

4 Responses to “Moderation – Forget the Key, I Can’t Even Find the Door”

  1. PinotNinja June 11, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    Nice work ass!!

    My advice is to step away from the app and the obsessive calorie counting. I didn’t really get healthy until I did that, and this is really about making a permanent change not just quickly dropping some pounds in an unsustainable way (because then you’ll just have to do it again next year).

    The next step is to find a form of exercise that you actually enjoy (for me its power vinyasa yoga, for another friend its hip hop class, for other people its the solitude of long walks/runs) — keep on trying things until one or two stick and then you’ll actually start to look forward to doing it most days.

    The final step in what I did was to start experimenting with healthier recipes. Just like the exercising, eventually you’ll find some things that actually taste good and you’ll start subbing them in for some of the junky meals (i know you’re skeptical, but i have a handful of veggie stir fry recipes that I actually crave they are so tasty). And never give up cheese or wine, because that is just wrong.

    You can totally do this. Just give yourself a little time and forgiveness as you trial and error your way to the right, sustainable combo for you.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos June 11, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

      Thanks! I don’t think I could ever give up cheese. Wine… let’s just say I’ve only just begun an uneasy truce with, lol.

      I did come up with one dish that is healthy (I think?) – baked tilapia over rice. I just never really portioned the rice properly, because it’s such a LITTLE piece of fish, lol. I tend to eat a lot, in general, and portion sizes are my nemesis. My eyes tell me it’s not enough to fill up my stomach.

      I’m sure that for me, the key lies in proper portions and just getting up off my ass, lol.

      I don’t necessarily want to be ‘thin’… I just want to like what I see when I look in the mirror. Which, I think comes less from what I see, and more from what I think about myself.

      And *that*, I am working on 🙂

      Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to comment! I really appreciate it!

      Like

  2. Ms Mahler June 11, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    I generally find discussions of portions to be pretty misleading. Ignoring ‘junk’ food for a minute, a ‘portion’ of steak is supposed to be about the same size as a pack of cards. Watch me laugh. No, I’m not one of those people who can go through a 24 oz T-bone, but a pack of cards sized steak, even with baked potato and veggies is not going to fill me up. But (and using the food pyramid for this even though it is totally discredited, because it’s familiar, same will apply to ANY diet based on portions), but according to said food pyramid I’m supposed to eat 2-3 servings of protein a day. So, my typical breakfast is cereal, no protein servings there. Sometimes a waffle or some yogurt. Even if I have meat at lunch, chances are I’ll still be able to have a 12 oz steak at dinner. and be withing my 3 servings.

    Overall, I tend to think you are better off skipping the diets and just making gradual changes in what you eat. Diets tend to be a ticket to the weight rollercoaster, precisely because they are such a hassle as to be practically useless.

    Like

    • KraftedKhaos June 11, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      *chuckles* yeah… deck of cards. That’s just enough meat to piss me off 😉

      I truly do want a lifestyle change, instead of a ‘diet’, I just don’t have the first clue about how to achieve that without feeling like I’m missing out on all the ‘good’ (as in bad for you, but tastes so damn delicious) stuff while I’m at it!

      I do tend to forget that I’m allowed more than ONE serving of certain types of food a day. Thank you for reminding me of that, and thank you for taking the time to visit, read and comment/support!

      Like

Share your thoughts!

